- Islanders Magazine


Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Saturday, 28 November 2015


The Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, SWAN (Lagos Chapter) has  honoured the Rector of Cowbell Football Academy, CFA, Mr. Godwin Dudu Orumen for his contribution to the advancement of sport journalism and the society.
In a night tagged “Celebration of STARS of SWAN” as part of the association’s 51st anniversary last Thursday in Lagos, Orumen, nicknamed football aficionado, bagged the award in the Media Entrepreneurship  category.
Fred Edoreh, Chairman of Lagos SWAN in an interview, explained that the award was a celebration of professional  colleagues who have made indelible marks in their callings, and in the process, contributed to the development of sport  and society.
He emphasised that Orumen was honoured specifically because “he belongs to a group of people who made us to understand that it is important as a journalist to be very expressive. Expressive not only in the report of stories/analysis, but also in terms of capacity to explore the possibilities in the industry.”
Edoreh added that the association sees Orumen as a man who functions as a sport marketer, a sport producer and presenter, as a sport lawyer, as a sport analyst, as a media investor and as a media entrepreneur. “Orumen has shown us that there are many possibilities in the industry. Currently, he is the Rector of the Cowbell Football Academy – a job you think is not a job for a journalist.”
He lauded the CFA rector for his commitment and passion as a sport journalist,  a sport promoter, a youth developer, and a mentor not only for journalist, but also for youths involved in sport.
In his reaction, Orumen thanked the organisers and described the award as a pleasant surprise coming from his colleagues in the industry. Solomon Dalung, the Sport and Youth Development Minister, who was the Special Guest at the occasion also commended Orumen and other awardees for their contribution to sport and youth development in the country.
Orumen, a lawyer and a journalist attended the University of Benin for degrees in Literature and Law before moving to the Nigerian Law school in 1988. Apart from being the Rector of Cowbell Football Academy, he is also the  producer/presenter, The Best of Football. He is also currently a member of the Presidential Committee on School Sport Revival.
Other recipient of the awards in various category include Joseph Adebayo Thomson, first SWAN president; Nduka Irabor, pioneer Chairman, League Management Company, LMC; Larry Izamoje, Pioneer of sport radio in Nigeria; Mumuni Alao, a celebrated sport journalist; Sunny Ojeagbase, founder of Complete Communications Limited and the late Ernest Okonkwo, an ace sport radio commentator.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad