- Islanders Magazine



Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Saturday, 6 June 2015

Lagos 8Th Assembly Heirachy : Obasa, Speaker; Eshinlokun, Deputy Speaker; Agunbiade, Majority Leader....................

With the inauguration of the 8th Lagos State House of Assembly set to take place on Monday, 8th June, 2015, we can reveal authoritatively that the members have reached agreement on who will hold the various principal offices when the Assembly is inaugurated by the state Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode.

Since Tuesday, 2nd June, 2015, members have settled for Honourable Mudasiru Obasa to lead the next Assembly, hence, he is the Speaker-designate.

However, the race for who occupy the other principal offices have been causing serious controversy among the lawmakers as they have decided to share six principal offices two each among the three senatorial districts.

With Obasa picking the Speakership position coming from the Lagos West Senatorial District, the position of Deputy Chief Whip was also zoned to the district and in the spirit of gender equalityn the member representing Alimoso State Constituency 2, Honourable Omotayo Oduntan has been designated as the Deputy Chief Whip of the 8th Assembly.

Two positions were zoned to the Lagos Central Senatorial District: the Deputy Speaker and the Deputy Majority Leader.

After serious pressure and consultation, the Deputy Speakership position was designated for the member representing Lagos Island State Constituency 1, Wasiu Sanni-Eshinlokun while his counterpart from Apapa State Constituency 2, Olumuyiwa Jimoh, was designated Deputy Majority Leader.

The two slots allocated to the Lagos East Senatorial District are: the Majority Leader and the Chief Whip.

Those designated for the two positions respectively are: member representing Ikorodu State Constituency 1, Sanai Agunbiade and his counterpart from Somolu State Constituency 2, Rotimi Abiru.

We learnt that the list has been presented to the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC).
Culled from Newspie01

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad